Amulya K Patnaik: New Commissioner of (DP) Delhi Police

Amulya K Patnaik: New Commissioner of (DP) Delhi Police :- IPS Amulya Kumar Patnaik, superseding two officers, was appointed by the Government as Commissioner of Delhi Police, a post that fell vacant after Alok Kumar Verma was made CBI Chief.

An order issued by the Government said that Amulya Kumar Patnaik, IPS (AGMUT: 1985) has been appointed to the post of Commissioner of Police, Delhi from the date of actual assumption of the charge, in place of Shri Alok Kumar, IPS (AGMUT: 1979) who has been appointed as Director, CBI, till further orders.

By appointing Patnaik, currently Special Commissioner (Administration), the government has superseded two senior officers – Dharmendra Kumar and Deepak Mishra, both 1984-batch IPS officers of AGMUT cadre.

IPS Deepak Mishra and IPS Dharmendra Kumar are serving as Additional Director General in the CRPF and CISF respectively.

IPS Dharmendra Kumar was special commissioner of police (Special Unit) during the then Commissioner of Delhi Police – B S Bassi’s tenure. Both Mishra and Kumar were made senior special commissioners, a post created by Bassi during his tenure that was later scrapped.

Two other senior officers of the cadre, 1982-batch JK Sharma and A K Singh of 1984 batch, have not been empanelled for the post of Director General at the centre.

Amulya Kumar Patnaik is a recipient of the President’s Police medal for distinguished service and the Police medal for meritorious service.