Andaman and Nicobar islands Ross, Neil and Havelock to be renamed by government

Andaman and Nicobar islands Ross, Neil and Havelock to be renamed by government: The three islands of Andaman and Nicobar which are going to be renamed by the government are: Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island. The Ross Island, Havelock Island and Neil Island will be renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, Swaraj Dweep and Shaheed Dweep respectively.

Ross, Neil and Havelock islands in Andaman to be renamed


  • On 30th December 2018, PM in Port Blair to mark 75th year of ‘Azad Hind’
  • Ross Island is going to be renamed Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island
  • Neil Island, Havelock Island to be name again as Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep.

According to the new reports, the three of the islands in Andaman and Nicobar on coming Sunday will be given new names by the government, the newest in the list of places being retitled all through the country.

According to the reports, the new names will be officially pronounced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the duration of his official visit to Port Blair on December 30. The home ministry also said that they have finished the procedures and paperwork for retitling the names of the three popular islands.

PM Modi will be together with Home Minister Rajanth Singh and will raise a national flag at Port Blair which is 150-metre-high in order to mark the 75th anniversary of freedom fighter Subhas Chandra Bose’s affirmation of the creation of the Azad Hind government in 1943.

During the Second World War, Subhas Chandra Bose Bose or Netaji had raised the flag after the Japanese seized the area. Back then, he had allegedly recommended that the Andaman and Nicobar Islands be retitled as Shahid and Swaraj Dweep.

In the previous year on March 2017, one of the BJP leaders had made a request in the Rajya Sabha to rename the popular tourist destination Havelock Island. LA Ganesan on the matter said specifying a place after an individual who had fought Indian nationalists in 1857 was a matter of disgrace.

Havelock Island is the largest island in the union territory and is named after Sir Henry Havelock, who was the British general. He served in India during the British government.

Earlier, this year also various former names were changed after a very long period duration. The Uttar Pradesh government which is headed by Yogi Adityanath, retitled a number of places across the state this year such as Mughal Sarai is renamed as Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhayay Nagar, Allahabad is renamed as Prayagraj and Faizabad as Ayodhya.

After the change of the names of Faizabad and Allahabad, there was a growing uproar from inside the BJP to modify the names of more cities.

While campaign for the elections in Telangana, Yogi Adityanath duing the campaign for the elections in Telangana said that if BJP will come to the ruling it will change the name of Karimnagar district to Karimpuram. Yogi Adityanath as well as BJP lawmaker in Telangana said that Hyderabad will also be renamed as Bhagyanagar if the BJP get success in the election.

Chief Minister of Gujarat, Vijay Rupani said last month that Ahmedabad in Gujarat is also likely to be changed as Karnavati in advance of the national elections in 2019.