Arunachal CM Appoints 26 MLAs Parliamentary Secretaries after leaving cong.

Itanagar: On Sunday, Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh – Pema Khandu appointed 26 MLAs as parliamentary secretary to assist in the smooth functioning of his government.

In a simple function in Itanagar in the presence of North East Democratic Alliance Convenor – Himanta Biswa Sarma, CM Khandu administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new parliamentary secretaries, including two women.


This is the first time in the state that a large number of MLAs were appointed as parliamentary secretaries.

Six are the former minister in the newly appointed parliamentary secretaries – Thirong Aboh, Thangwang Wangham, Phurpa Tsering, Jarkar Gamlin, Gojen Gadi, and Phosum Khimhum.

There are others parliamentary secretaries – Dikto Yekar, Zingnu Namchoom, Nyamar Karbak, Mama Natung, Tatung Jamoh, Pani Taram, Mutchu Mithi, Techi Kaso, Nikh Kamin, Kumsi Sidisow, Tapuk Taku, Karya Bagang, Gum Tayeng, Markio Tado, Likha Saaya, Bamang Felix, P D Sona, Jambey Tashi, Punji Mara, and C T Mein.

The portfolios of the newly appointed parliamentary secretaries would be allocated soon.

Earlier, Congress lost its government in Arunachal Pradesh to BJP-led front NEDA when 43 of its MLAs led by Chief Minister Khandu defected wholesale and merged with the People’s Party of Arunachal, just two months after it had regained power.

In a House of 60, the Congress had 44 MLAs with one seat falling vacant after former chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh – Kalikho Pul committed suicide on 9th August 2016, while the BJP has 11 MLAs including 2 Independents.