BJP MP Anurag Thakur Commissioned to Territorial Army Today

New Delhi: BJP MP and BCCI President Anurag Thakur commissioned in the Territorial Army.


On Friday 41-year-old Anurag Thakur plenipotentiary into the Territorial Army (TA) as a regular officer to become the first serving BJP Member of Parliament to join the military force.

Anurag made it to the Territorial Army after clearing an exam and a personal interview conducted in Chandigarh and training held in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.

Anurag Thakur is the Lok Sabha member from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh. He will have to undergo a mandatory training.

The Territorial Army is the second line of defence after the regular army. TA is composed of volunteers who receive military training for about a month in a year so that in case of an emergency they can be active for the defence of the country.


TA is not a profession, a source of employment or occupation. It is only meant for those people who are already in mainstay civilian professions. In fact, gainful employment or self-employment in a civil profession is a pre-requisite for joining the Territorial Army.

Anurag Thakur said that I am very excited. A dream come true for me. I always wanted to wear the military uniform and contribute to the country’s security but could not.

He also added that I am keenly looking forward to my training and serving the country.

The Grand Father of Thakur was in the army. He said that I initially wanted to join the armed forces but could not join the army because the career got diverted to cricket and politics.

MP Thakur said that I have always had the passion of joining the army. I have seen many youngsters sacrifice their lives for the nation, said the MP from Himachal Pradesh. In Himachal Pradesh, there is a general culture of sending youths to the army.

Thakur said that there are several issues concerning the forces which he had seen and dealt with from outside but now I will be able to see the conditions from inside and will be in a better position to raise issues as an MP.