Chris Gayle and Andre Russell drop out for upcoming series against Afghanistan

Chris Gayle and Andre Russell drop out for upcoming series against Afghanistan :- West Indies is all set to start its tour against Afghanistan and the side has finally announced their squads for the upcoming tour. West Indies is going to play total of three T20Is, three ODIs, and a Test against Afghanistan between November 5 and December 1. The tournament is going to held in Dehradun, India.

DHAKA, BANGLADESH – APRIL 01: Andre Russell of the West Indies celebrates with Chris Gayle after dismissing Mohammad Hafeez of Pakistan during the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 match between West Indies and Pakistan at Sher-e-Bangla Mirpur Stadium on April 1, 2014 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Afghanistan vs West Indies 2019

West Indies in their list of squads have included several players who performed exceptionally well in the recently finished Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

As it was earlier declared, Keiron Pollard is going to captain the side in the limited-overs leg while Jason Holder on the other hand is going to lead the side in the one-off Test. Unexpectedly, Holder finds a place in all of the three squads.

Brandon King as well as Hayden Walsh Jr., who were the highest run-scorer and wicket-taker in the competition individually, have finally earned their maiden call-ups. Both of the players have now made it to the T20I as well as ODI squads. Remarkably, Walsh had also made his international debut for the USA previously this year before his 22 wickets in the CPL which made West Indies pick him up.

Previous T20I captain Carlos Brathwaite is also absent from all the three squads while ex-ODI captain Jason Holder on the other hand is a part of all the three teams. Holder is also going to lead the team in Tests. In the meantime, veteran allrounder Kieron Pollard is going to lead the ODI as well as T20I teams.

Gayle and Russell drop out for upcoming series against AFG

On the other hand, Andre Russell as well as Chris Gayle are the two other prominent absentees from the white-ball squads. Gayle has been toying with his international career and it seems to be like that at the final point West Indies have decided to move on.

At the same time, Darren Bravo along with fast bowler Shannon Gabriel have both missed out on Test selection.

West Indies Squad tour against Afghanistan

T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph.


ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Romario Shepherd.


Test squad: Jason Holder (c), Shai Hope, John Campbell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Shamrah Brooks, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Jomel Warrican, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph.