ICC Award: Virat Kohli adjudged World Cricketer of the Year, Captain of ODI, Test team

ICC Award: Virat Kohli adjudged World Cricketer of the Year, Captain of ODI, Test team: – Indian captain Virat Kohli taken way the top honors at the ICC Awards 2017, very close to the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year also.


Kohli was also named the captain of both the Test and also in the ODI team of the year. The Australian Test captain Steve Smith has been awarded ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in the world governing body declared the annual awards on Thursday (18th January).

Kohli racked up some serious numbers crossways formats in the qualifying period – which began from the September 2016 and continues till September 2017. He had scored 2203 Test runs at an average of 77.80, with eight centuries to his he is having on his kitty; 1818 ODI runs at 82.63, comprehensive of seven hundred; and 299 T20I runs at a stunning strike rate of 153.

“It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year,” Kohli said.

“I won that back in 2012 also, though the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, consider as a great honour for me. It’s almost certainly the biggest of all in world cricket when the two Indians getting it back-to-back make it more special.

“Last time it was Ash [Ravichandran Ashwin] and this time I’m getting it, so I’m really really honored and I’d like to thank the ICC for recognizing all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also.”

ICC U-19 Wolrd Cup 2018 Schedule

Smith scored some good score like 1875 runs at an average of 78.12 in the 16 Tests he played in that duration, including eight centuries and another five half-centuries. “It’s a great honor to win the Test Player of the Year award,” he said, “It’s called Test cricket for a reason and I’m very humbled to win that award. I’ve had a really good year – I think I’ve scored six hundred in the year and more importantly led the team to an Ashes victory, which is something that is really important to me. I am incredibly humbled and I love playing Test cricket – it’s the game that challenges your skills and your mind the most.”

Hasan Ali of Pakistan was named as the ICC’s budding player of the Year while Afghanistan’s spin sensation Rashid Khan grabbed the name ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year silverware.

Hasan’s 3 for 19 played a vital role in Pakistan’s Champions Trophy to win the game in front of India. Rashid, also, picked 60 wickets for Afghanistan in 2017 – a record for an Associate player in a calendar year anyway.

Marais Erasmus is in his 2nd year in succession, received the award called the ICC Umpire of the Year. Erasmus joined ICC’s Elite Panel in 2010 and has officiated in 47 Tests and 74 ODIs, including the Champions Trophy final, and 26 T20Is.

Rishabh Pant Hits Fastest T20 Century

In the Bangalore test match, Yuzvendra Chahal’s 6 for 25 against England received massive limelight in the last year has been identified and recognized by ICC as the T20I Performance of the Year.

Anya Shrubsole the England pacer was had an iconic moment of sportsmanship – as she consoled South African skipper Dane van Niekerk – post the teams’ gripping Women’s World Cup semifinal won her the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: Ben Stokes, Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara Quinton de Kock (wk), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: Quinton de Kock (wk), David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.