Team India Squad For South Africa 2019 Players Announced for 3 Test & 3 T20 Matches

Team India Squad For South Africa 2019 Players Announced for 3 Test & 3 T20 Matches: As we know that South Africa cricket team is all set to tour in India in the month of September and October 2019 in order to play three Tests as well as three Twenty20 International (T20I) matches, all are eager to know about Team India squad for the series.

The competition between India and South Africa is going to begin from 15 September 2019 at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamshala. The remaining two games are going to be played at Mohali (September 18) and Bengaluru (September 22).

In all possibility, the squad that blanked West Indies 3-0 is possible to be booked (subject to fitness), as well as the selection committee, wants to carry on building in the direction of World T20 in Australia in October 2020.

On Wednesday, a senior BCCI official privy to developments in selection committee told PTI, “There are only 22 T20 Internationals before India play their first World T20 game and selectors are clear in their vision that it’s time to move forward,”

India Squad, Players List for South Africa T20Is: India have announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa.

The squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

He then further added, “They are planning on getting a pool of three keepers ready for limited-overs, especially T20s,”

Right now, it is still unclear whether the BCCI brass or the selection committee is going to speak to Dhoni in order to enquire about his plans which they also did before the West Indies tour when the former captain well-versed that he is going to be taking a break to serve his regiment in Territorial Army.

“Retirement is an individual decision and selectors or for that matter, no one has any right to decide on that front. But they have every right to decide the roadmap for the 2020 World T20 and that’s to give Rishabh Pant maximum chances,” the official explained.

A senior BCCI official at that time said that Dhoni is an Honorary Lieutenant Colonel in the Parachute Regiment of the Territorial Army, “We would like to clarify three things. MS Dhoni is not retiring from cricket right now. He is taking a two month sabbatical to serve his paramilitary regiment which he had committed much earlier. We have now intimated his decision to skipper Virat Kohli and chairman of selectors MSK Prasad,”

On the other hand, Pant remains the first choice across formats and the selectors are also factoring in the fitness as well as workload management.

Squads for Ind vs SA 2019


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (captain), Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.


India: To be announced

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Heinrich Klassen.

The official questioned, “Pant scored a fifty in the last T20 that he played. Ishan Kishan is in the A set-up. Do we even have an option of looking back when we need consistent big hitters on big Australian grounds?”

Well, there is no confirmation of Indian squad till date but the team for the series is expected to be selected on September 4. Till then stay tuned with us and we will update the selected list of team India as soon as it get’s announced.