Left-Unity alliance sweeps JNU student union polls defeating ABVP

New Delhi: The “Left-Unity” alliance on Saturday swept all four seats in the JNU students union election, defeating the RSS’ student wing ABVP with considerable margins.


The Left-affiliated groups have been locked in a battle with ABVP over dominance of their respective ideologies on the campus in aftermath of the February 9 incident during which anti-national slogans were allegedly raised, leading to arrest of three students, including the outgoing JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar, in a sedition case.

CPI(ML)’s student wing All India Student’s Association(AISA), formed an alliance with Student Federation Of India (SFI) which also emerged victorious on 30 out of 31 seats for councilors. ABVP won only one councilor seat from Department of Sanskrit.

Giving a tough fight to the Left-Unity was Birsa Ambedkar-Phule Students Association (BAPSA) which was on the 2nd pos. for the Presidential post while ABVP was the 2nd runner for the post of Vice President and General Secretary.

“Mohit Pandey of Left-Unity alliance has been elected as the JNUSU president, defeating Rahul Sonpimple of BAPSA by a margin of 409 votes.

Amal Pipli, Satapurta Chakraborty and Tabez Hussain have emerged victorious on the posts of Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary, respectively

Organizations such as Students Front for Swaraj (SFS), the student wing of AAP’s and Congress’ National Students Union of India and Democratic Students Federation (DSF) breakaway, made their debut this year but failed to open their account.

DSF’s Joint Secretary candidate Pratim Ghoshal gave a tough fight to Left-Unity’s Tabrez Hasan but lost the election a margin of 362 votes.

A total of 1,140 students exercised the None of The Above (NOTA) option.

Satapurta Chakraborty, the only girl in the newly elected panel, polled 2,424 votes, defeating Vijay Kumar by a margin of 1,094 votes for the post of General Secretary.

Amal PP won the Vice Presidential post with the highest margin of 1,304 votes, defeating Ravi Ranjan Choudhary.