Maharashtra Election 2019 LIVE Updates: Voting, EVM glitches at polling booths

Maharashtra Election 2019 LIVE Updates: Voting, EVM glitches at polling booths :- Today, October 21, the polling is being underway in all 288 constituencies in Maharashtra. In the meantime, the voter turnout recorded was 6.78 per cent till 11 am, reports said. Many see it as a inescapable assumption in favour of the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, in spite of disagreements over the seat-sharing arrangements in advance of the Assembly election.

Maharashtra Election 2019 LIVE Updates

Right now, it seems to be like that the challenge for the Opposition is to convince voters to vote on the basis of locally relevant issues. The NCP has also put up a fight, but the presence of Congress is seen in pockets, or only where they have a prominent leader.

Here are the highlights and live updates from the Maharashtra Election 2019 Voting:

11: 40 am:  Former chief minister Ashok Chavan said the BJP has plenty of resources, so they are good at marketing. “The Congress cadre wasn’t invisible or lackadaisical. But there is scope for improvement.”

11: 35 am: Maharashtra Congress files about 65 complaints over EVM snags.

11: 24 am: Overall voter turnout in Maharashtra at 6.78 per cent till 11 am, with highest voter turnout recorded in Jalna (13.13 per cent), Yavatmal (12.34 per cent), Nandurbar (11.59 per cent).

Congress complains to EC

District name


Voter turnout till 11 am
Nandurbar 11.59%
Dhule 5.68%
Jalgaon 6.85%
Buldhana 7.07%
Akola 4.24%
Washim 9.69%
Amravati 7.22%
Wardha 4.23%
Nagpur 10.34%
Bhandara 5.67%
Gondiya 4.63%
Gadchiroli 5.63%
Chandrapur 4.64%
Yavatmal 12.34%
Nanded 7.05%
Hingoli 6.04%
Parbhani 5.62%
Jalna 13.13%
Aurangabad 6.78%
Nashik 5.58%
Thane 7.19%
Mumbai Sub 5.77%
Mumbai City 6.71%
Raigad 8.62%
Pune 7.61%
Ahmednagar 9.49%
Beed 5.43%
Latur 4.76%
Osmanabad 4.48%
Solapur 4.02%
Satara 5.23%
Ratnagiri 8.05%
Sindhudurg 9.59%
Kolhapur 11.58%
Sangli 5.44%
Palghar 7.30%​

Voting EVM glitches at polling booths

11: 12 am: Mohan Bhagwat says RSS targetted for 90 years, in response to a question which was asked regarding the Congress’ criticism over the Sangh’s demand for a Bharat Ratna in order to be consulted on Hindutva ideologue VD Savarkar.

10: 50 am: Anil Ambani cast his vote at GD Somani school Cuffe parade in Mumbai

10: 44 am: Former chief minister and Congress leader, Ashok Chavan, criticizes BJP for campaign on Article 370. He said, “We ask people what the relevance of article 370 is in Maharashtra elections,” he said. “Does it concern your village, district or state? They say no. The merits-demerits of it is a separate issue. But what is its relevance in today’s election.”

10: 30 am: Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis, wife Amruta along with his mother Sarita casted their vote at a polling booth in Nagpur.

10: 15 am: Bollywood actor Ritesh Deshmukh along with his wife Genelia D’Souza and family cast their votes at a polling booth in Latur.

9: 54 am: Voting till 9 am, Uran: 7.50 %, Airoli :12% and Belapur: 4.82%

9: 30 am: Technical glitches in electronic voting machines (EVM) were reported from several polling booths in West Nagpur constituency

8: 00 am: PM Narendra Modi tweets to encourages the voters to exercise franchise. He wrote, “Elections are taking place for Haryana and Maharashtra assemblies. There are also by-polls taking place in various parts of India. I urge voters in these states and seats to turnout in record numbers and enrich the festival of democracy. I hope youngsters vote in large numbers.”

7: 30 am: Voting started at a Virar booth for Nalasopara assembly constituency

6: 50 am: Minutes before Maharashtra, Haryana goes to poll, Congress’ Digvijaya Singh raises EVM issue. He tweeted: “Haryana-Maharashtra Elections 2019: Here is how EVM-VVPAT can be manipulated due to a major technical glitch. EC is aware of lacuna but continues to be silent. If the CEC still insists on EVMs then I have a request.”