Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015 Goes To Sania Mirza

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015 Goes To Sania Mirza : Tennis player Sania Mirza received many medals and awards from the day she arrived in the field of sports. But this year is too much lucky for Sania Mirza as she was made brand ambassador for Telangana state and she now honoured with the most prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015. Sania Mirza is the second person to achieve this level of honour after Leander Paes.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015 Goes To Sania Mirza

Sania Mirza Gets Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015

Sania’s words to PTI from Toronto “It’s a tremendous honour for me to be conferred the Khel Ratna award and I feel humbled with the love and respect showered on me by my country”.

Telangana State CM K Chandrasekhar Rao congratulated Sania Mirza for winning this prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2015.

“Awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Mr. Justice V.K. Bali, former Chief Justice of Kerla High Court and consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards for 2015”

Press Informatuon Bureau Government Of India says that “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which award is to be given. Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award”.

Award List 2015

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Sania Mirza

The Arjuna awardees for 2015:

P R Sreejesh – hockey
Dipa Karmakar – gymnastics
Jitu Rai – shooting
Sandeep Kumar – archery
Mandeep Jangra – boxing
Babita – wrestling
Bajrang – wrestling
Rohit Sharma – cricket
K Srikanth – badminton
Swarn Singh Virk – rowing
Satish Sivalingam – weightlifting
Santhoi Devi – wushu
Sharath Gaekwad – para-sailing
M R Poovamma – athletics
Manjeet Chhillar – kabaddi
Abhilasha Mhatre – kabaddi
Anup Kumar Yama – rollerskating
Droncharya awardees:

Naval Singh: athletics-para-sports
Anoop Singh: wrestling
Harbans Singh: athletics-lifetime
Swatantar Raj Singh: boxing- lifetime
Nihar Ameen: swimming-lifetime
Dhyan Chand awardees:

Romeo James – hockey
Shiv Prakash Mishra – tennis
T.P.P. Nair – volleyball

Stay tuned for more updates. Be happy 🙂