The Easy Scrum Pathway

Want to know the simple steps in becoming an SM? Start with goal definition and the why-question of becoming an SM. Then move on to research job roles, scope, payouts, recruiting companies and so on. The next step is doing the training and certification to get skill-equipped through experiential learning. And then, of course, practice Scrum-like hell to get to be a Scrum veteran. There is no happy ending. Each day is a Scrum beginning!

Now let’s move on to make this as simple as possible and help you understand the Professional Scrum Master course which leads to the Professional Scrum Master trainingThe training provides an effective roadmap to your career through accredited training partners. They help you earn the PDUs/SEUs required to take the professional exams. Remember certification alone is insufficient. You will need to think and act according to the Scrum framework and breathe the Scrum Agile principles. The course trains you well in being a full-time dedicated SM. The course also addresses the needs of gaining practical knowledge on real-time industrial projects and honing the SM’s abilities and knowledge of Scrum values.

The Effective SM

An effective SM is one who

  • Enables others to achieve common objectives
  • Is always neutral in opinions and doesn’t take sides
  • Is supportive of all in putting forth their best
  • Promotes contribution and collaboration between team members to synchronise the common goals
  • Provides authority stemming of Scrum Values

Scrum Master Certification Exam

There are two certifications to enable you to become an SM. The PSM has three qualifying levels namely the PSM I, II and III. The three PSM, I, II and III level certifications, are earned by scoring a minimum passing score in an online test. Another certification one can attain is the CSM certification. 

No essential qualifications or experience is needed for both courses, and you can start from scratch. The CSM exam requires a qualifying score of 69% in it and the 8PDUs/ SEUs earned for certification. The PSM needs a score of 85% and 16 PDUs/SEUs. The PSM exams have three levels with different formats, and one has to prove their ability at each level of Scrum mastery. The CSM is an objective type of test and is an easier exam to take. On completion of the CSM course, the academy conducts these exams and awards the certification. PSM-I does not require course training but mandates comprehensive implementation of Scrum knowledge.

Certified Scrum Master Salary

The demand for PSM certified professionals is rising exponentially with nearly every enterprise aspiring to transition and become Scrum Agile. The Forbes Magazine reports that in the US the PSM/CSM certified IT professionals earn average salaries of an amazing 17,000$ more per annum compared to the median salary of other certified IT professionals. In India the salaries range from Rs 1,50,000/annum to 7,80,000/annum at Infosys,2000 Euros/month at Accenture and Rs 1,600,000/ annum at IBM according to

That’s the present scenario. Having researched briefly on the topic get to the next stage and enrol on your pathway to becoming an effective Scrum Master.