Uttar Pradesh government up to renaming Mughalsarai tehsil

Uttar Pradesh government up to renaming Mughalsarai tehsil: On Friday, the Uttar Pradesh cabinet gave sanction to the proposal of retitling Mughalsarai tehsil after Bharatiya Janata Party ideologue Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay. Mughalsarai tehsil is located in the Chandauli district of Uttar Pradesh.

The verdict was taken on Friday, 18th January 2019 in the course of a meeting of the state cabinet which was chaired by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

A government spokesperson said on this concern “There is no tehsil named as Deen Dayal Upadhyay Nagar tehsil. A recommendation to change the name of Mughalsarai tehsil as Deen Dayal Nagar was considered during a high-level meeting held at the state revenue board here on September 14, 2017”.

This is not the first time that the names of the various places in Uttar Pradesh have renamed. During the Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath government in UP, several renamed of the places have been witnessed.

Last year, in August 2018, the state government decided to retitle Mughalsarai railway junction after the cofounder of Bharatiya Jana Sangh, Deendayal Upadhyaya.

Also, in October last year, the state cabinet decided to retitle Allahabad city as Prayagraj, as well as Faizabad district was retitled Ayodhya district. The Indian Air Force airport which was in Gorakhpur was also retitled after Maha Yogi Gorakhnath.

Due to changing the names of various places in UP, the Centre as well as the state government have strained much criticism from the opposition parties.

Also, in the course of the cabinet meeting, another proposal of helping weaker sections of General category was also implemented and approved by the state government. The proposal was to implement 10% reservation for the economically weaker sectors of general category in all government employments and government educational organizations with outcome from 14th January 2019.

Uttar Pradesh government spokesman as well as the minister for energy Shrikant Sharma said in his statement, without revealing any additional details, “We will implement the union government’s notification, following the Constitutional amendment, in letter and spirit. We will provide 10 per cent reservation without any impact on quota for other categories”.

The state government is also making a grant for a suggestion to retitle three defence airports which are located in the state. The proposal put forward retitling the Bareilly airport after ‘Nath Nagri’, which is assumed to be the mythical name of the city.

Chief Minister Adityanath is also an associate of the Nath group. The proposal also acclaims the retitling of Chakeri airport which is located in Kanpur and the new name will be given after freedom fighter Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi as well as renaming the Agra airport after Deen Dayal Upadhyay.