BJP’s BS Yediyurappa takes Oath As Karnataka Chief Minister

BJP’s BS Yediyurappa takes Oath As Karnataka Chief Minister: The BJP’s BS Yediyurappa will be sworn in for the fourth time as Karnataka Chief Minister today at 6 PM, three days after the coalition government led by HD Kumaraswamy failed a test of strength. Mr. Yediyurappa met with Governor Vajubhai Vala this morning to stake a claim and urged him to schedule an oath ceremony today. He said, “I just met the Governor, I will take oath as Chief Minister today at 6 pm.”

BJP leader takes oath as chief minister for the fourth time

Being the opposition leader in the state assembly Yeddyurappa had  earlier said, “Since I’m already the leader of the opposition there is no need for a legislature party meeting to nominate me as its chief.”

Mr. Yediyurappa has to prove his majority by July 31 but sources say he may seek a trust vote before that, on Monday. He said, “I am 101 percent confident of getting the numbers.” The BJP’s move ends speculation that the party was playing it safe to secure its numbers in the assembly.

This would be Yeddyurappa’s fourth term as Chief Minister. His first term was back in 2007 that lasted just seven days as he failed to get the required numbers for the majority. While his second term lasted almost three years from May 2008 to August 2011, but due to corruption charges on him he was forced to step down.

His third term was the shortest one which was only 48 hours long. As Supreme Court ordered that he prove majority within 24 hours as against the 15-day window given by the Karnataka governor, he resigned before a trust vote.

However, a group of senior BJP leaders from Karnataka, led by former chief minister Jagdish Shettar met Amit Shah and working president Jagat Prakash Nadda yesterday and briefed them on the latest situation in the southern state.

The H.D.Kumaraswamy led coalition government in the state collapsed after losing the confidence motion by six votes on Tuesday.