Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019 LIVE: During Congress-BJP Clash, Candidate Brandishes Gun; Caught on Cam

Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019 LIVE: During Congress-BJP Clash, Candidate Brandishes Gun; Caught on Cam :- The voting for the first phase of the Jharkhand assembly elections began in 13 assembly constituencies in Jharkhand at 7am today. This is the fourth assembly election in Jharkhand since 2000 when the state was carved out Bihar. A total of 37,83,055 voters, including 18,01,356 women and five third gender voters, are eligible to cast their vote in the first phase. Election Commission officials said that the residents can exercise their franchise till 3pm. The polling that is spread over five phases, will conclude on December 20 and the result for the same will be announced on December 23.

Jharkhand Assembly Election LIVE

The first phase will witness several constituencies including Naxal-affected areas, like Latehar, Lohardaga, Chatra, Gumla, Manika, Panki and Daltonganj. The ruling BJP, which is contesting for the first time without an ally, faces a tough challenge from the united opposition parties. The BJP is contesting in 12 seats in the first phase, while it is supporting Independent Vinod Singh from Hussainabad. The opposition alliance of the JMM, Congress and RJD is contesting in four, six and three constituencies, respectively.

A total of 189 candidates are contesting in the first phase. Key candidates in the fray are Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominee and state Health Minister Ramchandra Chandravanshi from Bishrampur and state Congress president Rameshwar Oraon from Lohardaga seat. Oraon is taking on the former state Congress chief Sukhdeo Bhagat after the latter joined the BJP recently.

The district administration in Jharkhand has tightened the security in two assembly constituencies viz. Latehar and Manika, where a Maoist attack took place a few days ago.

Jharkhand Assembly Election (Vidhan Sabha) LIVE Updates

At 7:04 AM, the voting of the first phase in the Jharkhand Assembly election has begun.

At 8 AM, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das tweeted, “Today is the first phase of #JharkhandAssemblyPolls. I appeal to all to vote in large numbers. Your one vote is important for the development of the state.”

Home Minister Amit Shah also tweeted, “”To keep Jharkhand free from corruption and Naxalism and to maintain the pace of development here, a stable, majority government is necessary. I appeal to all the voters of the first phase to contribute in keeping Jharkhand on the path of development by coming out and voting in large numbers.”

Reportedly, the constituencies where polling is taking place are — Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

At 9:18 AM, Maoists blow up a bridge in Bishnupur in Gumla district. No injuries have been reported. Deputy Commissioner Shashi Ranjan says that the voting has not been affected.

Jharkhand Assembly 2019 Election Result

Till 9 AM, Jharkhand witnesses 11.02 per cent polling, with the highest being at Lathear assembly seat with 13.23 percent while 27.4% voting percentage recorded till 11am in the first phase of Jharkhand elections.

Meanwhile at 12:32 PM, the Congress leader P Chidambram, who is lodged in Tihar jail, through his family has tweeted: “People of Jharkhand must vote against the BJP and record their rejection of BJP’s policies and model of governance. They have the first opportunity to do so.”

At 13:32 PM, Congress candidate KN Tripathi brandishes a gun during a clash between supporters of BJP candidate Alok Chaurasia and his supporters.

Mr Tripathi was allegedly stopped by the BJP candidate’s supporters from going to polling booths, in Kosiyara village of Palamu. Congress candidate KN Tripathi accused BJP candidate Alok Chaurasia and his supporters of looting the booths.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has taken cognizance of the incident and sought a report in this regard from the district administration.

As per the latest update till 1 PM, 46.8% voter turnout recorded in Jharkhand in the first phase of assembly elections.