Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule Date: Voting starts from April 11, results on May 23

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule Date: Voting starts from April 11, results on May 23: The voting for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections is going to start on 11 April. On Sunday, the Election Commission announced the date with a 7 phase schedule for the world’s biggest democratic exercise.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule Date

Four states such as Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh, will also going to vote for new provincial governments.


  1. Voting on April 11, April 19, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12, May 19
  2. The festival of democracy, elections are here: PM Modi
  3. Model Code of Conduct is now in place

The competition for total number of 543 Lok Sabha seats mines the ruling BJP’s Narendra Modi in contradiction of Rahul Gandhi-led Congress party which is trying to work with regional parties to bring to an end of PM Modi’s government rule and try to stop him to return to the power once again.

PM Modi is the second non-Congress Prime Minister who led this post after Atal Bihari Vajpayee and is going to complete a full term in office and now is making a strong pitch for his re-election.

Well what will be the result in the end, will be known on 23 May when the Election Commission will count the votes. Just about 900 million voters are authorized to vote, out of them many will be voting for the first time in the national elections and have been the emphasis of PM Modi and Rahul Gandhi’s campaigns.

While strengthening his outreach to young voters, PM Modi said, “The festival of democracy, Elections are here, “I hope this election witnesses a historic turnout. I particularly call upon first-time voters to vote in record numbers”. Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted his comments few minutes after the Election Commission declared the election schedule, advising people to take part in the poll procedure.

The Election Commission said that 91 electorates spread across 20 states will see voting on April 11, 97 constituencies in 13 states will see voting on April 18, 115 seats in 14 states on April 23, 71 seats in 9 states on April 29, 51 seats in 7 states on May 6 and 59 seats in 7 states on May 12 as well as 59 constituencies in 8 states will see the voting on May 19.

The poll procedure will be overextended across seven stages in Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. Whereas in 22 states it is going to be held on a single day.

At a media conference, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said, “While finalizing the election dates, exam schedules of state examination boards, CBSE, various festivals including festivals which have religious, harvest season in other department are also adequately factored in”.

State-wise poll details:
Phase 1- April 11 (Seats in bracket)
Andhra (25), Arunachal (2), Assam (5), Bihar (4), Chhattisgarh (1), J&K (2), Maharashtra (7), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Odisha (4), Sikkim (1), Telangana (17), Tripura (1), UP (8), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (2), Andaman (1), Lakshadweep (1); Total 91

Phase 2 -April 18
Assam (5), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (3), J&K (2), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (10), Manipur (1), Odisha (5), Tamil Nadu (39), Tripura (1), UP (8), West Bengal (3), Puducherry (1);Total: 97

Phase 3 – April 23
Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Gujarat (26), Goa (2), J&K (1), Karnataka (14), Kerala (20), Maharashtra (14), Odisha (6), UP (10), West Bengal (5), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1), Daman and Diu (1); Total: 115

Phase 4 – April 29
Bihar (5), J&K (1), Jharkhand (3), MP (6), Maharashtra (17), Odisha (6), Rajasthan (13), UP (13), West Bengal (8); Total: 71

Phase 5 – May 6 
Bihar (5), J&K (2), Jharkhand (4), MP (7), Rajasthan (12), UP (14), West Bengal (7); Total: 51

Phase 6 – May 12
Bihar (8), Haryana (10), Jharkhand (4), MP (8), UP (14), West Bengal (8), Delhi-NCR (7);Total: 59

Phase 7 – May 19
Bihar (8), Jharkhand (3), MP (8), Punjab (13), West Bengal (9), Chandigarh (1), UP (13), Himachal (4); Total: 59

States which will have polling in one phase: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Lakshwadeweep, Delhi, Puducherry, Chandigarh.

Polling in 2 phases: Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura

Polling in 3 phases: Assam, Chattisgarh

Polling in 4 Phases: Jharkhand,Madya Pradesh , Odisha, Maharashtra

Polling in 5 phases: J&K

Polling in 7 phases: Bihar, UP, West Bengal

The declaration of the election schedule buzzes in the ground rules for the competition, called the model code of conduct intended to make a level-playing ground for opposition parties.

The code forbids administrations from making any declaration that may possibly affect the voters and gives the election board, the power to handover any official related with the election procedure across India.