Voter turnout in UP around 40% till 1 pm, 30% in Uttarakhand

Voter turnout in UP around 40% till 1 pm, 30% in Uttarakhand :- Lucknow/Dehradun: On Wednesday, the Polling for the second phase began in 67 Assembly constituencies of western Uttar Pradesh and for the first phase in 69 Assembly seats in Uttarakhand.

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017:

  • Voting in UP till 1 pm: Amroha – 44.75 per cent, Badaun – 37.03 per cent, Bareilly – 39.06 per cent and Moradabad – 40.80 percent
  • Over 25 per cent voter turnout recorded till noon.
  • 10.75 per cent voter turnout recorded in UP till 9 am.

Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017:

  • 30.12 per cent voting in Uttarakhand till 1 pm.
  • 22 per cent voter turnout recorded in Uttarakhand till 11 am.
  • Baba Ramdev casts his vote in Haridwar, praises PM Modi.
  • 6 per cent voting was recorded in the first hour of polling day in Uttarakhand.

The election officer said that 14,771 polling centres and 23,693 polling stations have been set up in the districts of Saharanpur, Bijnor, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Kheri, Shahjahanpur and Badaun and elaborate security arrangements made to ensure free and fair polling.

In the second phase – 720 candidates are in the fray in this phase in UP with a maximum of 22 from Barhapur (Bijnor) and a minimum of four nominees from Dhanaura (Amroha). 2.28 crore people are eligible to vote, including over 1.04 crore women.

Prominent contestants in UP include controversial SP minister Azam Khan and his son Abdullah Azam. Azam Khan and his son Abdullah Azam are contesting from Rampur and Swar seats respectively. Saif Ali Naqvi, son of former Congress MP Zafar Ali Naqvi, former central minister Jitin Prasada from Tilhar (Shahjahanpur), BJP Legislature Party leader Suresh Kumar Khanna from Shahjahanpur city and state minister Mehboob Ali from Amroha.

Uttarakhand: Around 74.20 lakh voters will decide the fate of 628 candidates as 69 out of 70 assembly constituencies spread over 13 districts go to polls.

Polling in Karnaprayag seat has been put off to March 9 following the death of BSP candidate Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi in a road accident on Sunday.


A total of 30,000 security personnel including 105 companies of CAPF, 25 companies of Provincial Armed Constabulary, Uttarakhand police and the home guards have been deployed.  For the first time, voter verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines will be used in these elections in the state Uttarakhand.

Without the permission of the Election Commission, the political parties and candidates can not publish advertisements in newspapers today and tomorrow.

64.22% turnout on 11st February 2017 in the first phase of UP Polls 2017 in 73 constituencies. The other five phases will be held on February 19, 23 and 27 and on March 4 and 8.

Manipur will vote on 4th and 8th March.

On 11th March 2017 – The result of the Assembly elections 2017 of all five states.