Delhi Election 2020: Voting Date, Result, Live Vote Counting, Winner Constituency-Wise Details

The Delhi election 2020 will be held on 8 February to elect 70 members of the Assembly. The results will be declared on 11 February 2020. The term of the current Assembly, elected in 2015, will expire on 22 February. The highly charged Delhi Election 2020 is a three-cornered contest between the incumbent Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

Delhi Election 2020 Voting Result

The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) came into force in Delhi after an announcement by Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on January 27. The campaigning of Delhi election has ended on Thursday (February 6) at 5 pm with the three major parties in the fray viz. the AAP, Congress, and BJP who launched a political slugfest with anti-Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) protest at the center of the narrative.

There are 13,750 polling stations in Delhi. Out of the 70 seats, 12 are reserved for schedule caste (SC) candidates. According to the chief electoral officer (CEO) Delhi, Ranbir Singh, there are a total of 14.6 million registered voters in Delhi, including 8.05 million males and 6.6 million females. Arora also said that 90,000 policemen will be deployed for the smooth conducting of the Delhi election.

Delhi Election Exit Poll Results 2020

The AAP has fielded its candidates in all 70 seats, the BJP in 67, and Congress in 66. The BJP, which is contesting this election in a pre-poll alliance with the Janata Dal (United) and Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP), has left two seats for the JD(U) and one for the LJP. The Shiromani Akali Dal, too, is supporting the BJP in the Delhi Election 2020. Similarly, Congress has left four seats for its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The Kejriwal-led AAP, which has fielded eight women candidates, has denied tickets to 15 sitting MLAs.

Delhi Election 2020: Full schedule

  • January 14: EC to issue election notification
  • January 21: Last date of filing nominations
  • January 22: Scrutiny of nominations
  • January 24: Last date to withdraw nominations
  • February 8: Voting day
  • February 11: Final counting of votes
  • February 22: Term of current Delhi assembly will expire

Delhi election 2020: Tech-enabled polls

  1. Delhi election this year is tech-enabled. Not just QR-code enabled voter slip and booth app, the EC has put the entire voter list online. The poll officials will scan the pre-printed voter slips containing the QR-code to mark the electors’ attendance for casting their votes.
  2. Voters (for the first time) can download their digital photo voter slip from the ‘Voter Helpline’ app which is available on Google Playstore and Apple app store.
  3. To download the digital photo voter slip from, voters are required to link their mobile number with their voter ID card of Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) number.
  4. Voters who wish to carry their digital photo voter slip (in voter helpline app) instead of a printed copy will be allowed to carry their mobile phones inside the polling booth but only up to the electoral official who will check and verify the same.
  5. The EC has also suggested the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) tools to forecast the queue length at the polling booths through the Voter Helpline Mobile app.
  6. If executed, it will help voters know the best time to go to cast their votes at the polling stations.

Voting time:

The polling in all the polling stations in all 70 Assembly constituencies are likely to be from 7 am to 6 pm on February 8 (Saturday).

Assembly constituency:

  • Visit the official website of CEO Delhi.
  • Find and click on ‘Know your Assembly and Parliamentary Constituency’
  • You would be redirected to another page of the website.
  • Enter your locality e.g., ‘Mayur Vihar Phase II’ and hit enter.
  • Your Assembly Constituency would be displayed on the screen.

To find your name on the voting list or electoral roll:

  • Visit the official website of CEO Delhi or the official website of the Election Commission of India.
  • Find ‘Check Your Name in the Voter’s List (Electoral Roll) By Voter ID No’ or ‘Check Your Name in the Voter’s List (Electoral Roll) By Voter’s Name’ on the CEO Delhi home page and click on it.
  • You would be directed to another page where you would have to fill in all your details such as your name, father’s name, age, state, district, Assembly constituency and the captcha code.
  • Hit search.
  • Your details would appear at the bottom of the page.

Your details as a voter in the Delhi Election 2020 would also include your polling station.

To find your polling booth Online or via SMS:

  • Click on ‘Search in Electoral Roll’
  • Enter your details and hit enter.
  • Your polling booth would appear on the screen along with your details as a voter.


You can also send an SMS to the voter helpline number – 1950. To know your polling booth, send an SMS to 1950 with space

To know who is contesting from your constituency:

The information regarding who is contesting in your constituency in the Delhi Election 2020 can be found on websites like MyNeta.

Go to the website MyNeta and click on your constituency name for e.g., Patparganj.

Top Candidates:

  • Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is contesting from the New Delhi Assembly seat and his deputy Manish Sisodia from Patparganj. Among other prominent faces in the AAP are Raghav Chadha (Rajinder Nagar), Somnath Bharti (Malviya Nagar), Saurabh Bhardwaj (Greater Kailash), Atishi (Kalkaji), Ram Niwas Goyal (Shahdara), Gopal Rai (Babarpur), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh) and Satyendar Jain (Shakur Basti).
  • The BJP has fielded Sunil Yadav against Kejriwal from New Delhi and the Congress has placed its bets on Romesh Sabharwal. The BJP’s Tajinderpal Singh Bagga is contesting from Hari Nagar against the AAP’s Rajkumari Dhillon, while former AAP members Kapil Mishra and Alka Lamba are contesting from Model Town and Chandni Chowk for the BJP and Congress, respectively. Out of the 70 candidates of the BJP and its allies, only 6 are women.
  • Congress has fielded some of the known faces for the upcoming assembly elections in Delhi. Former Delhi ministers Haroon Yusuf, Arvinder Singh Lovely, and A K Walia are contesting from Ballimaran, Gandhi Nagar and Krishna Nagar, respectively. Former Delhi University Students’ Union president Rocky Tuseed is also contesting on a Congress ticket from the Rajinder Nagar constituency.

Earlier, the Aam Aadmi Party had swept the Delhi Election 2015 with a landslide majority. It won a total of 67 seats and the BJP was reduced to only three seats. The Congress, which was dethroned by the AAP in 2014, drew a blank.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.