Indian States Celebrate their Formation Day today Haryana, Kannada, Chhatisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala

On Tuesday, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh, Karnataka, and Kerala are celebrating their formation days today, 1st November 2018. PM Narendra Modi extends his greetings to all five states on the micro-blogging site Twitter.

PM Modi appreciated Chhattisgarh natural beauty and progress, invoked the spirit of ‘Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan’ for Haryana, called for Karnataka’s progress, recalled Kerala’s contribution in the development of nation and also greeted Madhya Pradesh.

Know more about the ‘Birthdays’ of these 5 states in the following:

‘Jatland’ Haryana:

Today, Haryana is celebrating 50 years of statehood. The  state was carved out of the former state of East Punjab on 1st November 1966 on a linguistic basis.

Government of Haryana organises a day-long event in Gurugram on Tuesday which also attended by Prime Minister Narender Modi.


On Monday, Chief Minister of Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar launched a special employment scheme for unemployed post graduates of the state. Scheme – ‘Saksham Haryana’, the scheme aims to provide a minimum of 100 hours of work in a month for which a fixed remuneration of Rs 9000 will be paid.

The unemployed post graduates will have to register to the scheme through a website. The government of Haryana plans to extend the benefits of this scheme to 30,000 youths.


Today, Chhattisgarh also celebrates Formation Day Chhattisgarh. It is the tenth largest state of India. Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh on 1st November, 2000.

PM Narendra Modi to mark his presence in Chhattisgarh”s Rajyotsav, the 16th foundation day celebrations at Naya Raipur. The Prime Minister will dedicate the nation farmers, ‘Saur Sujala Yojana’ which aims to provide solar pumps to 51,000 farmers for irrigation in the state.


PM Modi will also dedicate the state’s first man-made jungle safari and Bus Rapid Transit System at Naya Raipur.

It has an area of 135,194 km square and a population of 25.5 million. One of the fastest-developing states.

Chhattisgarh comprises of 27 districts and 5 divisions– Bastar, Bilaspur, Durg, Raipur and Surguja. Chhattisgarhi, a dialect of Hindi language, is spoken and understood by the majority of people in the state.

‘Dil Hindustan Ka’ Madhya Pradesh:

Today, Madhya Pradesh also celebrates Formation Day Madhya Pradesh.  It is the 2nd largest state in the country by area and  6th largest in terms of population.

Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chouhan will administer the pledge to the people for giving contribution in development and prosperity of the state at a function in Bhopal.


Famous play back singers Sunidhi Chouhan and Hariharan will give musical presentations at Lal Pared Ground, Bhopal this evening.

CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan congratulates people on the formation day of Madhya Pradesh. He also said that the next decade will be decade of Madhya Pradesh.

The state was formed on 1st Nov, 1956. The BJP-ruled state comprises of 51 districts and 10 divisions.

Kannada Rajyotsava:

Karnataka state was formed on 1st November, 1956. Today it is celebrating its 60th formation day. After India became a republic nation, many states and provinces were formed on the basis of language spoken in a particular region, the state namely ‘Mysore’ was formed with the Kannada speaking people of South India.

Cultural programme during Rajyotsava celebrations organised by Public Instruction Department at Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday. - KPN ### Rajyotsava celebrations

But, the name ‘Mysore’ was not accepted by some regions and people demanded the change in the name of the state. Finally, the state of all Kannada speaking people was renamed as Karnataka on 1st November, 1973.

From 1973, the day has been marked as a government holiday in Karnataka and Kannadigas take great pride in celebrating Rajyotsava with various festivities, cultural events and performances through out the state.

Every year, the state government asserts Rajyotsava awards, which are awarded to people responsible for great contributions in the development of Karnataka in the field of politics, science, literature, art and more.

Kerala Piravi:

Kerala state was created on 1st Nov, 1956. Every year, this day is celebrated as ‘Kerala Piravi Dinam’ in the state. Kerala existed in the form of three independent provinces- Travancore, Cochin, and Malabar before India achieved independence in the year 1947.

As per the historians that Kerala word was derived from “kera”, which means coconut tree, which is widely seen in the region. Seminars, honouring of writers adn artists, and cultural programmes are organised on this day.


Kerala state is a popular tourist destination and famous for its tropical greenery, Ayurvedic treatments, and backwaters. The state is covered with rocky coasts, sea cliffs, beautiful beaches, and intense tropical forest. Generally, Malayalees wear traditionally clothes on this day.

Kerala has an area of 38,863 km square. The state is bordered by Karnataka to the north, Tamil Nadu to the south and the Lakshadweep Sea towards the west.