Repolling is in progress in 48 polling stations of Punjab

Repolling is in progress in 48 polling stations of Punjab :- Chandigarh: On Thursday, Repolling is underway at 48 polling stations under Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency and five assembly segments of Punjab.

The ECI ordered repoll in Punjab in some assembly following the malfunctioning of Voter-Verified Audit Paper Trail (VVPAT) and Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) during the 4th February polls. Amid tight security, the repolling began at 8 am today.

The repolling was ordered by Election commission of India(ECI) at 12 polling stations of Majitha Assembly seat, nine each of Muktsar and Sangrur, one each of Moga and Sardulgarh and 16 polling stations of Amritsar Parliamentary constituency.

Majitha seat: Cabinet minister and Akali candidate Bikram Singh Majithia is locked in a contest against Congress Sukhjinder Raj Singh Lalli and AAP candidates Himmat Singh Shergill.

Muktsar seat: SAD has fielded Kanwarjit Singh while Congress has fielded Karan Kaur and AAP have fielded Jagdeep Singh respectively.

Sangrur seat: The nominee of the Congress party is Vijay Inder Singla while SAD has fielded Parkash Chand Garg and AAP has nominated Dinesh Bansal.

Moga seat: Harjot Kamal Singh of Congress party contest against Akali candidate Barjinder Singh and AAP candidate Ramesh Grover.

Sardulgarh seat: Congress candidate Ajit Inder Singh contest against AAP’s Sukhwinder Singh and Akali candidate Dilraj Singh.

Amritsar Lok Sabha seat: BJP’s Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina fight against Congress’s G S Aujla and AAP’s Upkar Sandhu. Elections for 117 assembly segments took place on February 4 and the state recorded 78.6 per cent of voting.