David Warner to be next Australian captain, Shaun Marsh & Usman Khawaja may return in playing XI

Australia tour of Sri Lanka has now reached the limited over, after losing the test series by 3-0. And, after winning the first ODI, Australia went on to lose second ODI.


And, the worse thing happens to Australian as their regular skipper Steven Smith is all set to fly back to Australia as the Australia selector decided to rest him for the upcoming South Africa series and big Australian summer.

Meanwhile, this decision was highly criticised by the former cricketers of different continents. But, the main question arise, who will replace the class of Steven Smith?

Well, the latest news is coming out that Shaun Marsh will find the spot in the Australian middle order and most probably will be slotted at Number 3 for the third ODI against Sri Lanka.

It is believed that selector will rope Shaun Middle order, keeping in mind his brilliant test century in the final test match. Marsh has been in form and that makes him the perfect contender to bat in place of Smith.

Although, Usman Khawaja’s name is coming too and there is also a possibility that even he will find the place in the playing XI for third ODI. It is believed that Khawaja will replace the Moises Henriques who was even not able to read the spin balls of Sri Lanka’s spinner.

Meanwhile, David Warner will captain the Australian team in rest of the matches, including T20. And coach Darren Lehman says ” we would love to test David Warner in captaincy role as this opportunity will give him the experience of leading the team at International level. ”

Also, there were rumours that Smith may give up the captaincy, but Lehman cleared the buzz and told media wing that ” we are pleased with the captaincy of Smith and he is still learning. ”

But, rumours are there that if David Warner will be able to succeed in remaining matches of Sri Lanka tour, then there is a possibility that he may be retained as the permanent captain of Australia in all the three formats.


David Warner (C), Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey, Shaun Marsh, Matthew Wade, Travis Head, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon.