ICC World Test Championship Points Table 2019-21 Team Standings, Ranking & Match Results

ICC World Test Championship Points Table 2019-21 Team Standings, Ranking & Match Results: After the completion of ICC World Cup, Team India have to again join the road after a two-week-long break. Team India has to now get themselves ready to travel to the Caribbean for a full series which is going to include two Tests, three T20Is and 3ODIs. This tournament is the highly-anticipated World Test Championship (WTC) which is all set, to begin with the opening Ashes Test in the middle of England and Australia beginning from August 1 in Birmingham.

World Test Championship Points Table

Team Matches Win Lose Tie Draw N/R Points
India 4 4 0 0 0 0 200
New Zealand 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Sri Lanka 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Australia 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
England 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
West Indies 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
South Africa 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh 0 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan 0 0 0 0 0 0

The 2-Test series between Sri Lanka as well as New Zealand is going to begin from August 14 and is also going to be played in the WTC fold with India’s tour to the Caribbean resulting next.

How will the winner be decided?


For each match played under the World Test Championship, a certain number of points is going to be allotted to every single team and the top two teams in the point table at the end of the 2-year cycle is going to play the final match at Lord’s in June 2021 in order to decide the winner. The winning team will be the winner of the tournament but in case if the final is tied or drawn, the team which has topped the points table at the end of the league stage is going to be declared the winner.

World Test Championship Points Distribution

Matches in Series Points for Win Points for a Tie Points for a Draw Points for a Loss
2 60 30 20 0
3 40 20 13.3 0
4 30 15 10 0
5 24 12 8 0

Will all 9 teams play each other during the World Test Championship?

The answer is no as all the nine teams are scheduled to play a total number of 6 Test series i.e., 3 Home and 3 Away, under the WTC fold which means that no team is going to be able to play the rest others in the 2-year cycle. This may possibly mean that teams are going to end up playing an uneven number of matches.

ICC, on the other hand, has tried to balance this by creating a total number of 120 Championship points being accessible for each series regardless of its length.