Technology

Whatsapp Latest Updates: Whatsapp roll out PIP mode 2.0 for Android users

Whatsapp Latest Updates: Whatsapp roll out PIP mode 2.0 for Android users: With the motive of constantly improving the app, WhatsApp is frequently adding new features and functionalities to its platform. According to the reports, earlier this year WhatsApp was working on improving the functionality of its picture-in-picture (PIP) mode.

HIGHLIGHTS

  • WhatsApp is rolling out PIP mode 2.0.
  • PIP mode 2.0 is available for Android users only.
  • Users with WhatsApp Beta for Android version 2.19.177 can use this feature.

Whatsapp Updates:  PIP Mode 2.0

The feature was first reported by WABetaInfo, the blog that reports developments and upcoming features updates on the social messaging app, back in March saying that the Facebook-owned app had started working on fixing limitation with the feature. And now the company has started rolling out the feature to all its users who are using the latest beta version of its Android app. This means that the PIP mode 2.0 is available to all those using WhatsApp Beta for Android version 2.19.177.

The original PIP mode had one critical limitation that it would stop playing a video whenever a WhatsApp user switched to another application. This, even when WhatsApp wasn’t closed. The improvements in the PIP mode – or the PIP mode 2.0 – sought to change this.

The PIP mode 2.0 will allow WhatsApp users to play a YouTube video or a Facebook video in the background even if they switch from one chat to another within the app or when switch to another app without closing the popular social messaging app.

As far as the rollout in the main app is concerned, as the feature is out in the beta app, it is believed that it should be available very soon to its users across the globe.

Also according to the reports, WhatsApp is working on a new feature that would ensure that its users don’t accidentally end up sending images to the wrong contact. As of now, WhatsApp shows an image of the recipient in the top left corner of the screen when users select and edit the images that they want to share. But if reports to be believed then, the app would show a name of the recipient just below the caption in the screen so that users can be doubly sure to whom they are sending their images and avoid such accidental mistakes.