Australia announces T20 Match Squad against Srilanka, former all rounder returns

The Australian Cricket Board has announced their t20 Squad for the two t20 twenty matches against the Srilanka, that will kick off from next month.


The announced squad of Australia t20 team has the genuine match winners. Few of them, are currently available on the island and preparing for the third ODI meanwhile, rest are the t20 specialists and will soon join the squad.

But, the highlight of this squad was the return of all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who was avoided for the 5 match ODI series against the same opposition Sri Lanka.

Along with Maxi, another explosive middle order batsman Chris Lyn make to this squad. Chris Lynn has been in terrific form in the recently concluded Carribean Premier League.

Meanwhile, the likes of John Hasting and Scott Boland will swing and seam the white ball along with spreadhead Mitchell Starc for Australia in this t20 series.  These are already reached Sri Lanka and are practicing there for the upcoming series.

The Australia tests wicketkeeper Peter Nevill has retained his place in the t20 squad. Also, Adam Zampa is the lone spinner in this squad.

This squad exclude Josh Hazelwood and Nathan Lyon, who were the part of recently concluded world t20 squad in India. David Warner will lead this team and the batting will revolve around him. Travis Head impressed everyone in the second ODI, despite Australia defeat and there is strong possibility that he will be included in the playing XI in both the t20.


David Warner (c), Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa.

Australia vs Sri Lanka t20 Schedule

First T20 – Pallekele Stadium, 6 September at 11:30pm AEST

Second T20 – R. Premadasa Stadium, 9 September at 11:30pm AEST
Meanwhile, Australia and Sri Lanka have squared the ODI series with the score of 1-1 and now, both are gearing up for the third ODI.