India vs South Africa 1st T20I: India Aim To Continue T20I Domination in First Tie Against South Africa

After a clean sweep in all the three cricket formats against the West Indies, Team India is now back in the country to take on South Africa in the first T20I of the three-match series at the picturesque HPCA Stadium today with the aim to further enhance their practice for the World T20 which is scheduled next year.

India vs South Africa 1st T20I

Following their emphatic performance in their tour to the Caribbean Islands, team India would be brimming with confidence as they were absolutely ruthless against the West Indies in the Test, ODI, and T20 series.

Although a number of leading figures were given rest during the Caribbean tour, India cruised to a 3-0 series win in the T20Is. While Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were in among the runs against the Carlos Brathwaite-led side, debutant Navdeep Saini had starred with the ball alongside experienced Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

However, the star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is back in the squad after the rest for the complete Windies tour and is surely going to be in the playing XI against the South Africans.

On the other hand, a young Proteas team which is led by Quinton de Kock will look to come up with new hope and leave behind their dismal performance in England in the World Cup.

India Aim To Continue T20I Domination in First Tie Against South Africa

While there are three new faces Temba Bavuma, Bjorn Fortuin, and Anrich Nortje in the South African quad who will be eagerly waiting to perform at the big stage, the all-rounder Chris Morris along with the trio Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn, and Lungi Ngidi were overlooked. With Kagiso Rabada in the squad, who can turn the game on its head, the team is expected to pose a bigger challenge to team India.

The last time these two teams faced each other in the T20 format was in 2018 when India had beaten the Proteas 2-1 in the three-match series played in South Africa.

However, with the prediction of rains and thunderstorms, the game might get spoiled.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (c), Rassie van der Dussen (vc), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.